Blaik Field at Michie Stadium
|Country||United States of America|
|Clubs||Army Black Knights|
|Inauguration||10/1924 (Black Knights - Saint Louis Billikens, 17-0)|
|Renovations||1962, 1969, 2003|
|Address||700 Mills Road, West Point, New York 10996, USA|
Michie Stadium – stadium description
Main stadium of the prestigious United States Military Academy was set up in a wonderfully picturesque area beside the Lusk Reservoir in West Point. While it wasn’t entirely common in 1920s, this arena was built in 1924 with only football in mind, no running track.
Initial stands were C-shaped, partly based on naturally sloped land in the west and north. East side, one along Lusk waters, was left empty, giving spectators a pleasant view of the area. Those early stands are part of the current stadium even today, representing roughly 30 lowermost rows.
Over the years several expansions were carried out, though it wasn’t until 1962 that the east side was permanently enclosed by a large grandstand. In 1969 the western upper deck was added, while in 2003 the latest addition came, southern pavilion overlooking the field.
From opening game to this day Army Black Knights remain the only regular tenant. The team was started thanks to determination of Dennis Michie, graduate of 1892. He created the team in 1890 and for this is honoured in the stadium’s name. Its field has a separate name though, this one honouring Earl Blaik, famous coach who led the team for 17 years and won three national titles with Black Knights.