Stadium of the Year 2022: Time for your nominations!

source:; author: Mateusz Osmola

Stadium of the Year 2022: Time for your nominations! We have said goodbye to the old year and are looking forward with high hopes to what 2023 will bring. For our editorial team, it is time to summarise what happened on the world's stadium map in 2022. Any moment now, the next edition of our Stadium of the Year vote will be launched. We invite you to take an active part in our competition and suggest your candidates.


In terms of stadiums, the year 2022 was unusually prolific. All over the world, more and more impressive arenas were springing up like mushrooms. At the moment, 36 stadiums from all over the world have made it onto our list, and that's where you come in! Our ballot remains open to suggestions from readers and viewers. We have presented our picks in the table below, but keep in mind that the number of stadiums can grow significantly with your involvement. Time to meet our nominations: 

Stadium Location
Allianz Stadium Australia flag Sydney
Arena Romeirão Brasil flag Juazeiro do Norte
Stade de Yamoussoukro Ivory Coast flag Yamoussoukro
Workers’ Stadium China flag Beijing
Lanzhou Stadium China flag Lanzhou
Chengdu Fenghuangshan Football Stadium China flag Chengdu
Kuishan Sports Center Stadium China flag Rizhao
Yulin Sports Center Stadium China flag Yulin
Leshan Olympic Center Stadium China flag Leshan
Qingyuan Sports Center Stadium China flag Qingyuan
Taizhou Sports Park Stadium China flag Taizhou
Danzhou Sports Center Stadium China flag Danzhou
Wuyi New District Sports Center Stadium China flag Nanping
Yueyang Sports Center Stadium China flag Yueyang
International Football Center of Rizhao China flag Rizhao
Xiaoshan Sports Centre Stadium China flag Hangzhou
Alphamega Stadium Cyprus flag Limassol
Stade Abdelkrim-Kerroum Algeria flag Sig
Suez Canal Authority Stadium Egypt flag Ismailia
OPAP Arena Greece flag Athens
Jakarta International Stadium Indonesia flag Jakarta
Banten International Stadium Indonesia flag Serang
Al-Minaa Olympic Stadium Iraq flag Basrah
Al-Zawraa Stadium Iraq flag Baghdad 
Dariaus ir Girėno stadionas Lithuania flag Kaunas
Stadion Floriana Krygiera Poland flag Szczecin
Stadion Władysława Króla Poland flag Łódź
Estadio Villa Alegre Paraguay flag Encarnación
Lusail Stadium Qatar flag Lusail City
Stadionul Rapid-Giulești Romania flag Bucharest
Stadionul Municipal Romania flag Sibiu
Stade du Sénégal Senegal flag Diamniadio
Erzincan Stadyumu Turkey flag Erzincan
Snapdragon Stadium USA flag San Diego
GEODIS Park USA flag Nashville
CityPark USA flag St. Louis

The list will of course be updated as new nominations are accepted. There are several ways to submit your proposal: by email, Facebook, Twitter or Instagram. We will take a close look at each of them and notify you of our decision. Before you head off to your keyboards, please read the submission criteria for the Stadium of the Year poll.

We have greatly valued your support and involvement in our stadium project over the years, so your participation is crucial throughout the whole competition. You can nominate any arena, but keep in mind the four unchangeable requirements:

  • Chronological criterion [full opening between 01/01/2022 and 31/12/2022];

  • Functional criterion [only stadiums enabling professional football games];

  • Capacity criterion [10 000 seats or more];

  • Structural criterion [only brand new or completely rebuilt stadiums].

You can submit your nominations until February 2. The voting, in which you will be the ones to choose the best stadium of 2022, will last a month and will start on February 15 and end on March 15, 2022.

Keep your eyes and ears open, because a video with voting instructions will soon be released on our YouTube channel. We are already looking forward to it and hope for a high turnout!

SOTY rules