Stadium of the Year 2015: Jury begins work along new rules

source:; author: michał

Stadium of the Year 2015: Jury begins work along new rules Meet our five amazing Jurors and new rules along which they’re judging all nominated stadiums. Their work has only just begun…


We’ve launched the Public Vote online platform earlier this week, but the Jury Vote has only begun. This year the Jury will work differently than during our last competition.

Vote is divided into two phases, During the first one architects will select the 10 most interesting stadiums. The shortlist of finalists should be released on February 1. From that point onwards the Jury will be evaluating only the 10 finalists, based on three criteria: visual impact, relation with surroundings and innovation.

Vote for Stadium of the Year 2015

As you may remember, last year we also had a “value for money” category, but decided to drop it after feedback from last year’s Jury. While all nominated stadiums were opened, final budgets for some of them may not be precise, thus making it hard to properly evaluate on relation between price and outcome.

Final vote of the Jury will be published on February 22, just like the Public Vote result.

Proud to have THEM on board!

When we introduced the Jury Vote last year, we managed to find great, experienced architects to take part in our project. But this year the level of enthusiasm for Stadium of the Year exceeded our expectations. You’ll find detailed information about each Juror in the Jury Vote widget, but let us just name some of the most amazing projects these men have worked or are working on right now.

Dipesh Patel (Pattern) has Al Rayyan Stadium, Hazza Bin Zayed Stadium and Etihad Stadium in his portfolio. José Ribas (Ribas & Ribas) co-created the futuristic projects for Real Madrid and Dubai international stadium. Chris Dite (Arup Associates) recently ended work on the Singapore Sports Hub and is now based in Doha, while Andrew Edge (also Arup Associates) earned his experience during both the 2022 World Cup and 2012 Olympics works. And last, but definitely not least is the gem of Bilbao, San Mames, designed by renowned Basque architect César Azcárate.

Cesar Azkarate

Chris Date

Andrew Edge

Dipesh Patel

Jose Ribas

Main Sponsor
Forum Seating