Sydney: Accor secures naming rights for Stadium Australia

source: [KT]; author: Karol Tatar

Sydney: Accor secures naming rights for Stadium Australia Hotel giant Accor has signed a multi-year naming rights deal with Stadium Australia. According to the recently released schedule, the venue will host the final of the Women’s World Cup in 2023.


Stadium Australia is definitely one of the most exciting entertainment arenas in the region and was the centerpiece of the Sydney 2000 Olympic and Paralympic Games. The venue had already welcomed more than 30 million fans since it was inaugurated in 1999.

Stadium Australia©

From now on, according to a seven-year sponsorship agreement, the ground will be called Accor Stadium. It has the capacity to hold concerts for 100,000 spectators and over 80,000 people for seated sporting events. The facility was previously known as ANZ Stadium (2008-2020) when it held the record in terms of the naming rights deal in Australia.

Stadium Australia©

Under its new name, the stadium will also provide a range of new benefits for members of the ALL - Accor Live Limitless loyalty program, with points able to be redeemed for a variety of money-can’t-buy experiences.

Together with the new partner coming on board, the stadium will be upgraded soon with a new 1,200 square meters LED screen. The new equipment is the longest high-definition straight-run stadium video display anywhere in the world, as we informed just a few months ago.

Stadium Australia© Stadium Australia

Women’s World Cup schedule revealed

Together with the information about the naming rights sponsor, we are in hurry to inform you about the match schedule for the ninth edition of the Women’s World Cup. A 64-fixture competition will be the first-ever co-hosted tournament, and also the first edition to feature 32 teams. The full calendar is available here.

WC 2023

Ten stadiums in nine cities across Australia and New Zealand will host the biggest female football event in the world. The best players will take to the field in Adelaide, Auckland, Brisbane, Dunedin, Hamilton, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney (2 stadiums), and Wellington. The inaugural match and the opening ceremony will take place at New Zealand’s Eden Park. Stadium Australia [we're using tournament names, not current commercial ones] has been selected to host the final.

Author: Karol Tatar